Welcome, Guest
You have to register before you can post on our site.

Username
  

Password
  





Search Forums



(Advanced Search)

Forum Statistics
» Members: 1,164
» Latest member: Tombrownn
» Forum threads: 1,288
» Forum posts: 30,611

Full Statistics

Online Users
There are currently 38 online users.
» 0 Member(s) | 36 Guest(s)
Bing, Google

Latest Threads
What's happening at BTR *...
Forum: Everything BabelTech Related
Last Post: apoppin
09-07-2021, 12:51 PM
» Replies: 37
» Views: 11,745
Great Free Games! [update...
Forum: Hot Deals, Free and Bargains
Last Post: apoppin
08-30-2021, 03:27 PM
» Replies: 36
» Views: 20,985
*Incoming* New Mystery H...
Forum: General Hardware
Last Post: apoppin
05-25-2021, 04:28 PM
» Replies: 144
» Views: 125,697
What's happening at BTR *...
Forum: Everything BabelTech Related
Last Post: apoppin
05-01-2021, 03:15 PM
» Replies: 844
» Views: 442,751
Good morning BTR!
Forum: Off-Topic
Last Post: apoppin
04-07-2021, 02:35 PM
» Replies: 11
» Views: 7,681
VR Discussion Thread
Forum: Gaming
Last Post: apoppin
03-13-2021, 02:13 PM
» Replies: 421
» Views: 277,744
General Console Gaming Th...
Forum: Gaming
Last Post: weinkain
01-10-2021, 08:18 AM
» Replies: 274
» Views: 181,147
Elon Musk smokes pot as T...
Forum: Off-Topic
Last Post: gstanford
01-04-2021, 05:36 AM
» Replies: 36
» Views: 19,848
Ampere Taped Out? (Amper...
Forum: Video
Last Post: apoppin
12-18-2020, 12:06 PM
» Replies: 131
» Views: 76,394

 
  What's happening at BTR *18*
Posted by: apoppin - 05-01-2021, 03:18 PM - Forum: Everything BabelTech Related - Replies (37)

<p><span id="sceditor-start-marker" class="sceditor-selection sceditor-ignore" style="display: none; line-height: 0;"> </span><span id="sceditor-end-marker" class="sceditor-selection sceditor-ignore" style="display: none; line-height: 0;"> </span><br></p>

What's happening at BTR *17* has been closed since it got too long for easy searching as an archive. However, feel free to carry over any conversation from there to here as No. 18 is the new catch-all thread of what is happening and related (somewhat) to BTR.

https://www.babeltechreviews.com/communi...p?tid=1449

BTR's ad campaign has run its course - and it was a great run. For now, there are no ads but we will return to hosting Google/Ezoic platform ads shortly to help keep BTR running. As usual, please report any issues here.

New review coming this week (for me, it's a "fun" review) - but I can't talk about it yet. Rodrigo has a driver performance analysis featuring the Enhanced Edition of Metro Exodus which is due next Saturday. Sean is working on the Sim Side Part 3 overview, and I have a lot scheduled.

Rumors claim (I have no personal knowledge of them) that Nvidia is releasing a RTX 3080 Ti this month. But my so far 'confirmed' schedule of reviews for May-June include (1) this week's review, (2) TeamGroup 64GB DDR4 upgrade for my 12GB i5 Quad-core notebook, (3) RX 6700 XT vs. RX 3070 VR review, (4) Latency review (AMD vs Nvidia) featuring a 360Hz ASUS/240Hz Samsung display, (5) desktop T-Force Create DDR4 3600mhz review, and a (6) self-contained Home office review featuring a solar/solar 'generator' back-up.

Stay tuned. There is always something good coming from BTR
Good3


  A SIX-year-old gamer "addict" spent $16,000 on his mom’s CC
Posted by: apoppin - 12-14-2020, 03:35 PM - Forum: Off-Topic - Replies (1)

<p><span id="sceditor-start-marker" class="sceditor-selection sceditor-ignore" style="display: none; line-height: 0;"> </span><span id="sceditor-end-marker" class="sceditor-selection sceditor-ignore" style="display: none; line-height: 0;"> </span><br></p>

TL;DR More or less ... and Apple says "too bad, pay it - you should have known better"
https://nypost.com/2020/12/12/this-6-yea...edit-card/

Quote:Six-year-old George Johnson secretly racked up more than $16,000 in Apple app store charges for his favorite video game, Sonic Forces — leaving his mom in shock.

While working from home during the pandemic, Wilton., Conn., real estate broker Jessica Johnson, 41, didn’t realize the younger of her two sons had gone on a shopping spree on her iPad. Over the month of July, George bought add-on boosters — starting with $1.99 red rings and moving up to $99.99 gold rings ...

... “It’s like my 6-year-old was doing lines of cocaine — and doing bigger and bigger hits,” she joked of her first-grader.

When Jessica discovered Apple and PayPal were withdrawing hefty sums — $562 here, $601 there — from her Chase account, she assumed it was a mistake or fraud and called the bank, confused by the unitemized charges. “The way the charges get bundled made it almost impossible [to figure out that] they were from a game,” she said. ...

... clueless that it was George’s doing, Jessica filed a fraud claim in July when her bill reached $16,293.10 — but it wasn’t until October that she was told by Chase that the charges were indeed hers and she needed to contact Apple.

“[Apple] said, ‘Tough.’ They told me that, because I didn’t call within 60 days of the charges, that they can’t do anything,” said Jessica. “The reason I didn’t call within 60 days is because Chase told me it was likely fraud

It's a rough way for a parent to learn, although tBH Jessica is a prime example of clueless non-parenting. She gave some pretty weak excuses blaming her son and then the game publisher when her problem was giving a 6 year old child full access to her banking and allowing him to roam the Internet without any supervision. Not to mention that she *could* have found out where the charges were coming from from her CC co right after the first charge was filed.
---Watch your kids and pay attention to your finances - or the Grinch may visit you instead of Santa!
Beee


  a CPU review for VR needed? :)
Posted by: mihaii - 12-13-2020, 09:01 PM - Forum: General Hardware - Replies (2)

hey guys, great site for VR benchmarks (and more). Actually, the best for VR testing. Congrats @apoppin.
I was curious if you could test CPUs for VR
I'm currently running a Skylake 6700 (non K) and i was thinking if the upgrade should be a new CPU+3060TI vs sticking with the same CPU+3080

Thanks,
M


  The latest News - Hardware Unboxed vs. Nvidia
Posted by: apoppin - 12-12-2020, 02:44 PM - Forum: Video - Replies (5)

<p><span id="sceditor-start-marker" class="sceditor-selection sceditor-ignore" style="display: none; line-height: 0;"> </span><span id="sceditor-end-marker" class="sceditor-selection sceditor-ignore" style="display: none; line-height: 0;"> </span><br></p>

BTR tries to stay out of tech "politics" - but one particular email between Nvidia PR and HW Unboxed blew up Reddit and social media - so I think I have to comment now. ABT was a "tech site" and I consciously set up BTR to be a "review" site because I got burned by tech politics once before with AMD's PR blacklisting us for posting news they didn't appreciate. BTR is independent in every way but now this email calls into question the integrity of every reviewer and has to be addressed.

THE ISSUE:

HWU received an email from Nvidia's top PR and tweeted about it and it made it to reddit.
https://www.reddit.com/r/nvidia/comments...oxed_from/
[Image: jyQJpti5A_LC8euq2CLe2HQ2nkMZAgNIVuaRef_y...77b7e78c3c]

The full email:

Quote:Nvidia's email to Hardware Unboxed transcribed by /u/FlatAds via WAN Show

Hi Steve,

We've reached a critical juncture in the adoption of ray tracing and it has gained industry-wide support from top titles, developers, game engines, APIs, consoles and GPUs.

As you know Nvidia is all in for ray tracing. RT is important and core to the future of gaming, but it's also one part of our focused R&D efforts on revolutionizing video games and creating a better experience for gamers.

This philosophy is also reflected in developing technologies such as DLSS, reflex and broadcast that offer immense value to customers who are purchasing a GPU. They don't get free GPUs, they work hard for their money, and they keep their GPUs from multiple years.

Despite all this progress, your GPU reviews and recommendations have continued to focus singularly on rasterization performance and you have largely discounted all of the other technologies we offer gamers.

It is very clear from your community commentary that you do not see things the same way that we, gamers, and the rest of the industry do. Our founder's editions boards and other Nvidia products are being allocated to media outlets that recognize the changing landscape of gaming and the features that are important to gamers and anyone buying a GPU today. Be it for gaming, content creation, or studio and streaming.

Hardware Unboxed should continue to work with our add-in card partners to secure GPUs to review. Of course you will still have access to obtain pre-release drivers and press materials, that won't change. We are open to revisiting this in the future should your editorial direction change.

Brian Del Rizzo

Director of Global PR, GeForce

I have commented in this and associated threads there that this is highly unusual and absolutely not typical of the PR I know pretty well at Nvidia; and I have known then for 12 years. So I thought it may have been something personal and written out of frustration.

The video at the bottom is Linus take on it, and it is absolutely scathing. It takes up about 1/2 hour and Linus is concerned as I am about the integrity of our OWN reviews - because we like ray tracing. So I also have to address the issues the email raises.

As you well know, I am a ray tracing fan - long before Nvidia introduced Turing. It something that has always interested and fascinated me as superior to rasterization in games, and I did a lot of research on it and carefully followed its progress from year to year at the GTCs. I watched a supercomputer render a game ray traced in real time, then a DX-G1, then Quad-SLI'd Titans, then a single Titan and finally watched a Ti manage RT in real time at 30fps. I was also fascinated with the way AI could "fill in" the missing data of low-ray traced scenes by first machine learning mass images then denoising, and I watched it progress also over years.

My only surprise was that Turing was a bit early. I did not expect it until now, Ampere. But I loved what I saw at Gamescom with Turing - but my review was also critical (in my first ray tracing "industry analysis") that the HW was just not fast enough and it was too expensive. But I understood the "chicken-egg" scenario - the rule that the HW has to have an established base first - and then the ray traced SW/games will follow.

I also pointed out that this was Nvidia's BIG GAMBLE - they bet everything on ray tracing. And I projected that they would win - that ray tracing was so appealing that everyone would go for it (from the devs whose life will ultimately get a LOT easier using RT than rasterization) and just better looking games.

Well, Nvidia won. They won the ray tracing war in less than 2 years. MS was in early which meant that AMD knew about it (and clearly they went to work on it right away because Navi 2 does have ray tracing HW functions) and Intel also. And the consoles support ray tracing in their own first gen which is about the same situation that Turing was in 2 years ago. But RT is coming and it is the future of gaming (and VR!).

I have always always believed that games would eventually be ray/path traced - and I feel lucky to have lived long enough to see it (and VR!!). So in a way - Nvidia has aligned with me - not I with them. So when they brought out RT enabled HW, I am and have been consistently all for it - yet in my reviews I do point out that there are very few RT games - now - and the 6800 series is a good alternative for 99.99% of current games and it will let you play RT games much like Turing which is still a decent solution. So we have to give AMD a lot of credit for managing a leap from the 5700 XT to the 6900 XT to bring them into competition with Nvidia again.

At any rate, because of my interest in RT and DLSS, BTR focused on it and you saw a lot of review featuring this new tech (and VR!). It seems to me that HWU just doesn't have the interest that I do in it and tends to focus on other things which happen to be AMD's strengths. Both BTR and HWU provide solid reviews that focus on what we and our respective readership are interested in. I tend to give more emphasis to ray tracing and HWU less attention (although they still cover it pretty well IMO, and they also like DLSS).

So I was a bit perplexed by the email. IMO Nvidia "won" - Ray tracing is in everything from now on. It will - at the least - be a checkbox feature. Hardware will get faster from AMD and Nvidia and eventually all games will be path traced - in a decade or so. These things take time and there is no way to move any faster. I don't get why Nvidia would withhold review samples from them because then don't focus on RT "enough". I don't follow the Reviewers Guides - in fact, a couple of my recent reviews started with a VR review!

Quote: They don't get free GPUs, they work hard for their money, and they keep their GPUs from multiple years.
First of all, we don't get "free" video cards from Nvidia as that email suggests. If they are free, why don't they belong to me? I don't own them - they are basically loaners until they no longer have value. BTR also keeps them for multiple years and post 'retro' reviews regularly.

I won't go into dissecting the rest of the email. It is disturbing, but I don't think it is Nvidia's official position, and I think there is some backstory we just don't know. But I would guess that it may be personal or out of frustration giving both sides the benefit of the doubt. I am surprised that it was sent at all. Usually, if ANY tech company is not pleased with the way their product is reviewed, they may go back to the reviewer to discuss their review and ask why certain features were not highlighted. But I can't imagine any company basically threatening to cut someone off in writing (for obvious reasons) - if they are not satisfied with a reviewer's thoroughness, they usually internally move that reviewer to a less favored spot in the sample chain.

At any rate here is the video.


  AMD 6800 series thread (big Navi)
Posted by: SickBeast - 11-22-2020, 05:15 PM - Forum: Video - Replies (12)

This launch from AMD was way more than I expected. For AMD to catch up to nVidia in terms of rasterized game performance is nothing short of astounding. It's going to take a few years for AMD to truly be back in the game, though. They need an answer to DLSS, and they need to fix the ray tracing performance. Apparently AMD is working on their own kind of DLSS; we shall see how it turns out.

I would still go with nVidia this round unless I was a 1440p or lower gamer.

I think AMD is going to have some killer low end/midrange cards based off these products.

The real shocker for me this round is that the AMD cards actually run cooler than the nVidia cards. For a very long time now the nVidia based cards have typically run cooler than the AMD cards.

This is overall a really amazing launch for AMD and I'm happy to see them back in the game. The new consoles will probably be a big hit/win for them also.

It's nice to see some competition for Intel and nVidia. I was disappointed in the pricing for the nVidia 2000 series cards. The current gen is pretty compelling if you're in the market for a card for 4k gaming.


  Apple M1 benchmarks in 2020 Mini Mac
Posted by: apoppin - 11-17-2020, 03:31 PM - Forum: General Hardware - Replies (2)

<p><span id="sceditor-start-marker" class="sceditor-selection sceditor-ignore" style="display: none; line-height: 0;"> </span><span id="sceditor-end-marker" class="sceditor-selection sceditor-ignore" style="display: none; line-height: 0;"> </span><br></p>

Very impressive feat by Apple.

https://www.anandtech.com/show/16252/mac...-m1-tested


Video US Coast Guard vs. Jaws
Posted by: apoppin - 08-27-2020, 03:28 PM - Forum: Off-Topic - Replies (4)

<p><span id="sceditor-start-marker" class="sceditor-selection sceditor-ignore" style="display: none; line-height: 0;"> </span><span id="sceditor-end-marker" class="sceditor-selection sceditor-ignore" style="display: none; line-height: 0;"> </span><br></p>


  Forum theme
Posted by: ZeroEnigma - 08-15-2020, 07:45 PM - Forum: Everything BabelTech Related - Replies (3)

Hello Everyone!

Somewhere along the way, the Default theme's templates have been ruined. I am working on fixing them but there is just not enough time in the day Furious

I have been focusing on the main site for some time but the forum will be updated and this theme is the new default- for now.

I tested with Mark and it seems to be working fine. Please let me know here about any issues you may run into.

If you want to go back to the old theme, be warned it needs work and will have the old issues until we can reinstall the pages. We are still recovering from some messed up PHP and other issues caused by Bluehost during the move to our new server so it may be a bit until I can fix it.

Here are the steps to revert back to the old theme:

User CP- https://www.babeltechreviews.com/communi...on=options

Under options, there is a "Other Options" section. Under "Board Style:" select "Default2"


  Important National Park Service Warning re: Bears
Posted by: apoppin - 08-08-2020, 12:45 PM - Forum: Off-Topic - Replies (9)

<p><span id="sceditor-start-marker" class="sceditor-selection sceditor-ignore" style="display: none; line-height: 0;"> </span><span id="sceditor-end-marker" class="sceditor-selection sceditor-ignore" style="display: none; line-height: 0;"> </span><br></p>

The National Park Service has warned against sacrificing another person to an irate bear even if you think your friendship may have run its course

https://www.facebook.com/nationalparkser...6218541389

Quote:READ: Please don’t run from bears or push your slower friends down in attempts of saving yourself.⁣⁣
⁣⁣
As a follow-up to a previous post, if you come upon a stationary bear, move away slowly and sideways; this allows you to keep an eye on the bear and avoid tripping. Moving sideways is also non-threatening to bears. Do NOT run, but if the bear follows, stop and hold your ground. Like dogs, they will chase fleeing animals. Do NOT climb a tree. Both grizzlies and black bears can climb trees.⁣⁣ Do NOT push down a slower friend (even if you think the friendship has run its course).
⁣⁣
Stay calm and remember that most bears do not want to attack you; they usually just want to be left alone. Don’t we all? ⁣⁣Identify yourself by making noise so the bear knows you are a human and not a prey animal. Help the bear recognize you as a human. We recommend using your voice. (Waving and showing off your opposable thumb means nothing to the bear) The bear may come closer or stand on its hind legs to get a better look or smell. A standing bear is usually curious, not threatening.⁣⁣
⁣⁣
Find more tips, check out https://www.nps.gov/subjects/bears/index.htm
P.S. We apologize to any “friends” who were brought on a hike as the “bait” or were sacrificed to save the group. You will be missed. ⁣⁣


[Image: Bear-warning.jpg]

I don't know why the NPS posted publicly posted it. A similar rule of surfing has always worked for me with sharks, so I guess hiking is similar:
- *NEVER* surf alone - ALWAYS bring a (slower) friend!!

But I learned something - I didn't know showing a bear your opoosible thumb makes no difference. It begs the question, will exhibiting your middle digit cause a bear to attack?
Laugh1